Raising the Bar

The PGA of America announced today that Congressional Country Club in Bethesda, Maryland, will host eight of its championships and events in the span of a 15-year period. The landmark agreement will route the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship in 2022 and 2027, the 112th PGA Championship (2031) and 51st Ryder Cup (2036), among other events, to the nation’s capital and Congressional’s Blue Course during a stretch from 2022 to 2036.

Conceived in 1921 so that Members of Congress could meet socially with business leaders, Congressional boasts a vaunted golf history that includes the 1976 PGA Championship won by Dave Stockton and a trio of U.S. Opens (2011/Rory McIlroy, 1997/Ernie Els, 1964/Ken Venturi). Congressional has also staged the 1995 U.S. Senior Open, the 1959 U.S. Women’s Amateur and three PGA TOUR events.

The first Championship held at the venue under this historic agreement will be the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, a major-championship collaboration among the PGA of America, LPGA and KPMG that focuses on the development, advancement and empowerment of women on and off the golf course. 

“KPMG’s commitment to advancing, developing and empowering women is illustrated by the selection of Congressional Country Club as the host of the 2022 and 2027 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship,” said Lynne Doughtie, KPMG U.S. Chairman and CEO. “To help more women in business advance to the C-suite, the KPMG Women’s Leadership Summit will be held at Congressional and bring together top leaders across multiple industries with women nominated by their CEOs to attend.”

Congressional’s world-renowned Blue Course was designed by Devereux Emmet in 1924, and has been renovated over the years by Donald Ross, Robert Trent Jones and most recently by Rees Jones. The course will undergo a full restoration, starting in 2019, led by Keith Foster.  It is consistently ranked among the top-100 courses in the United States, most recently at #64 on the GOLF Magazine ranking and #75 for Golf Digest.

Notably, the 2022 KPMG Women’s PGA Championship will be the first professional women’s golf event held at Congressional Country Club, in line with the Championship’s goal of visiting major championship venues across the United States. Past venues have included Westchester Country Club (2015), Sahalee Country Club (2016), Olympia Fields Country Club (2017), and Kemper Lakes Golf Club (2018).

The next iteration of the event will be conducted at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, MN from June 18 – 23, 2019, which previously hosted the Ryder Cup in 2016.  The Championship will also travel to Aronimink Golf Club (2020), recent host of the PGA TOUR’s BMW Championship, and Baltusrol Golf Club (2023), host of the 2016 PGA Championship.

Future Sites of the KPMG Women's PGA Championship

  • 2019  |  Hazeltine National Golf Club - Chaska, MN
  • 2020  |  Aronimink Golf Club - Newtown Square, PA
  • 2021  |  To Be Confirmed
  • 2022  |  Congressional Country Club - Bethesda, MD
  • 2023  |  Baltusrol Golf Club - Springfield, NJ