Lefty and Team USA capture 2017 Presidents Cup

Dominating victory keeps Presidents Cup in U.S. hands

The Presidents Cup will remain in the United States’ possession.

Team USA secured its 10th Presidents Cup title on Sunday at Liberty National Golf Club, winning the 12th edition of the Presidents Cup 19-11 over the International Team.

Team USA got off to a quick start, taking seven of the first ten matches in the opening two days, and never looked back.  When singles matches commenced on Sunday, the United States had an eleven point lead over the International Team, needing just one point to secure its seventh straight Presidents Cup and tenth overall. 

For a record 12th time, Phil Mickelson represented his country in the biennial event. He secured 3 ½ points for Team USA, with a record of 3-0-1 over the four days of competition.  On Friday, Mickelson capped off a dominating day for the U.S. by sinking his 12foot birdie putt on the par-3 18th to give he and Kevin Kisner a 1-up victory over Jason Day and Marc Leishman. With his putt, Mickelson tied Tiger Woods’ U.S. record for most matches won in Presidents Cup history. He would go on to break Woods’ record the following day. Mickelson capped off his weekend at Liberty National by defeating Adam Hadwin 2&1 in their singles match, his 26thmatch victory at the Presidents Cup.

The 2017 title marks Mickelson’s tenth Presidents Cup team victory. His 3 ½ points bring his career total to 32 ½, a Presidents Cup record, adding to an already impressive Team USA résumé for Mickelson. Team USA will look to retain the cup when the event heads to Melbourne, Australia in 2019.

For more information, follow @MickelsonHat on Twitter or visit KPMG.com/Golf